A Dogri-English Calendar for the year 2021, highlighting the portraits of stalwart Dogri writers, was released today by the senior members of civil society of Jammu, Ashok Angurana, IAS ( Retd ) and K. B. Jandial, IAS ( Rtd ). The function was held at Dogri Bhavan, Karan Nagar Jammu. It was a simple ceremony due to the prevailing conditions caused by the Corona pandemic. However, a number of Senior Dogri Writers and Office Bearers of Dogri Sanstha were present on this occasion.

The calendar in digital format can be downloaded here.

Ashok Angurana, speaking in the function, said that the publication of this Calendar is a very good initiative and will be a step towards popularisation of Dogri among masses. He further said that this is the most befitting way to honour and respect those great writers who have made outstanding contribution to Dogri language and literature. This will familiarise the younger generation with these stalwarts and will motivate them to carry on the process initiated by the great men of previous generation.

K. B . Jandial, while expressing his views, complimented the Sanstha for this initiative, which is first of its kind. He said that with Dogri being accorded the status of Official language of J and K, more and more efforts are required to strengthen and popularise Dogri language and literature and this step of the Sanstha will go a long way in meeting this objective. He urged upon the younger generation to learn more about their history and culture.

Prof Lalit Magotra, President of Dogri Sanstha, earlier in his introductory remarks said that main aim of bringing out this calendar is to keep the memories of these great men alive who have laid the foundation of modern Dogri literature. He said that those communities which do not remember and respect those who have contributed in enriching their societies are doomed to perish.

He thanked all members of the Sanstha who have contributed financially towards this publication which include – Prof Veena Gupta, Gianeshwar Sharma, Inderjeet Kesar, Prof Shashi Pathania, Vijaya Thakur, Dr. Chanchal Bhasin, Madan Gopal Padha, Vivek Chohan, Ajit Khajuria, Sunil Sharma, Deepak Kumar, Ashok Khajuria, Raaz Manawari, Rajesh Manhas, Sunil Tagotra and one anonymous donor. He particularly thanked Pawan Verma who designed and provided technical inputs for this publication.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *